About Me

Name: Duff
Gender: Male
Breed: Yorkshire Terrier / Schnauzer Mix
Estimated Birthdate: 4/24/2013
Height: about 8" at the shoulder
Weight: 12 lbs
Good with dogs: Sometimes
Good with men: Sometimes
Good with women: Sometimes
House trained: yes
Crate trained: yes
Leash trained: Yes
Must have fenced in yard: No although he enjoys playing outside in the grass and sunshine with his people.  Duff is too small to ever be left alone outside.  He is small enough to be picked up by a bird of prey and he is cute enough and friendly enough to be stolen.  


I am a funny and happy little guy and I love your attention.  I am wary of strangers and anyone who comes at me without respecting my space and letting me decide if they are ok.  I have used my teeth on strangers and punctured skin and I will do it again if pushed.  We are working on this but there may have been someone in my past that was not nice to me and strangers bring that memory back.  My first foster mom wrote, "When we first met Duff I honestly was concerned he would be with us for months.  Duff spent 10 days at our local shelter snarling and snapping at everyone but one worker who could handle him.  I brought him home and within 2 hours he was snuggling and giving kisses to his primary caregiver”.   I like being cuddled by my foster mom and dad but foster mom reminds me that she is boss not me.  I am doing ok on a leash but here I have a fenced yard and as long as I am not alone I will run, explore and roll in the grass.

I get along with other dogs unless they try to take one of my treasures.  I did play well with one of my foster brothers who was my size but I liked fighting with the foster cat. I like playing tug of war with my foster mom and our toys, I allow her to take my toys and treats without any problem but not my new foster sisters, I growl to let them know to leave my stuff alone.  They just ignore me but I still feel like I’m in charge for the moment.  I enjoy being loved on and will even nap with my small foster sister and mom just on opposite sides of the bed.  I enjoy running and playing outside as long as foster mom or dad are with me.  I roll around in the grass, such a silly boy. I play fine alone with toys and could learn to play with other dogs who respect my space and “things” including my person.  I would also be good for a work at home person because I'm a quiet dog.  I do respond to someone or something at the door, but I only bark until you check it out. I would NOT do well with someone who is away from home for long periods of time during the work week - I just really like being with my person. I am also not friendly in public as I get really scared. I am just not big on social situations or strangers. It will take lots of time and patience for me to work on these things and I may never be 100% into being super social or meeting lots of strangers.  Please note - Duff BITES - and he draws blood when he does.  At home with his people he knows, he is sweet and happy.  But he has and will bite any human who has not spent many hours earning his trust.  


Can’t have a dog of your own? Have a soft spot for old, sick or hard to place dogs? It only takes a $20 a month donation for me to be your virtual dog! I need at least 10 virtual adopters (sponsors) to help cover my monthly costs.  If I have medical challenges I need even more! r having to leave your home, you can have your very own online dog that will send you update emails, make Facebook posts, and be eternally grateful for your support!  Go to the donate link at the top of the page for instructions as to how to donate. Questions?  Email:

I love my Virtual Adopters! LAURA & SADIE P