Photos

About Me

Name: Dash Sep 22
Sex: Male
Spayed/Neutered: Yes
Breed: Poodle (Standard) (long coat)
Weight: 57 lb
Height: 25 in
Estimated Birthdate: 9/28/2019
Fence Needed: Yes
Location: Dreamweaver Farms, Pacolet SC
Adoption Fee:$599
Adopt

My Story

Date into Rescue: 9/28/2022

Reason for being in rescue: Breeder release from an Ohio puppy mill

Special Needs: Dash is neutered, up to date on vaccines and heartworm negative. Dash is currently being treated for an ear infection.

What kind of home would be best for me: Dash is a shy guy who wants nothing more than to please you. He has lived a very sheltered life and it shows, but Dash is eager to experience and explore. Dash requires a home with an experienced owner. His ideal hoe has someone home during the day. Dash wants to be with his people and wants to bond to his family. Dash is not suited for homes with small dogs or cats - he is too curious and does have a prey drive. Dash has never lived with children. 

Oh by the way, I love food! I will do anything for a treat. I love meeting people even though I am super shy. I love to give kisses and share hugs. 

What is my personality like: I am shy and don't know too much about life yet. But what I have learned has made me become less shy. I enjoy it when my foster mom cooks. I don't know what kinds of food I don't like because everything I've tried so far, I love! My food comes in a slow feeder because I love food so much! I might be scared of new sights and sounds but I look to my handler for guidance. If you tell me you got this then I'll stay right by your side and go with you.

I like going for walks and sometimes I like car rides. I do get carsick if we have to go far but with work, I can overcome this.  Mostly, I would just like to be with you. I have suffered some stress from being bounced around and never really given the chance to shine. I do better in a home with another dog who can help me learn, but it could be fun with just me and my new parent(s.) In my current foster home, there are a few other dogs of my size that let me play and jump around with.  I am learning basic cues and try really hard to be a good boy. I am also crate trained and stay clean all night and during working hours.

I enjoy my bed and toys because I love to chew and I will need some strong chew toys to satisfy that urge.  I do not get a blanket or bed (a kong bed heavy duty might work) because I chew beds, too.  Best to know! Oh by the way, I love food! I will do anything for a treat. I love meeting people even though I am super shy. I love to give kisses and share hugs. 

I would like to continue to be with someone who will teach me this big world is not so scary and I have nothing to fear.  

How do I act when I first meet new people: I love people! I am shy and nervous for just a minute. I like to smell you and know you are safe and trustworthy but once I know you I will shower you in my love. I have lots of hugs and kisses to share. 

Tips and Tidbits: No records came with our dogs to help us tell how old they are.  We know what we were told and so estimated from there. We estimate that Dash was born on or around 9/28/2019.

House trained: Dogs can be house trained if they are in the right environment and are allowed to follow a schedule as long as a physical reason doesn't keep them from being trained.  A dog house trained in my home may not be in yours. We will help you teach your new dog this necessary skill and based on your schedule.

Potential Adopters

Please note - we do not ship or transport our dogs. If you are interested in adopting a dog, take a look at the distance between the dog's location and your location and make sure you are able to make the trip.

Thank you for your interest in a dog who needs a new home. This description contains all that we currently know about this dog. We have no perfect dogs - but many of our dogs have proven to be perfect for a certain someone. We urge all of our potential adopters not to fall in love with a picture. When screening applications, we look at the entire home and then make suggestions based on what would be a good fit for your home. You are not being screened for a specific dog although we are looking to see what type of dog interests you - poodles or non poodles, age, temperament, personality, etc. Our goal is to match you with the best possible pet for you and your home. We want to create furever families.

If you would like to receiving our monthly newsletters and learn more about how to support dogs in need, please email info@carolinapoodlerescue.org or fill out our contact form and ask to join our mailing list.

Thank you for considering CPR!